What Not to Say to a Graphic Designer

I love my job, the majority of which is very design-heavy. Outside of my 9 to 5 job, I also freelance. I’ve worked on various types of graphic and layout projects, and have been involved with quite a few clients over the course of numerous projects. However, this also means that I’ve had people make comments and requests that have been everything from eyebrow-raising to annoying to altogether infuriating. Then again, no matter what industry you work in, there are certain things you’ll hear over and over that will make you want to punch a wall. So I thought I’d share some of the most frustrating remarks I’ve heard over the course of my own work.*


*Please note that this—like everything else on this blog—is my own opinion, and stems from my own personal experiences. It’s not meant to speak on behalf of any other graphic designers or their clients.

9 thoughts on “What Not to Say to a Graphic Designer

  1. I came across a colleague who asked me for some guidance to improve their layout in word. The cover page had word art. *sigh*

  2. I studied graphic design in my course to become a webmaster… 1 1/2 year later I gave up. It is so complicated and so much more goes into it than most people realize.

  3. Hahahhahahha :D
    The last one was the funnniest !! Recently, I was working on a design and my superior came to me asked me to change things. I was enraged (although I didn’t express that!!) I asked him, “Okay, tell me what you want” …. then he calls me to his computer and opens his Powerpoint.

    And, then I thought, “Good work, you A-hole” :D

    • Hahaha that sounds like most of my coworkers! They frequently call me to fix their MS Word problems because they think that’s what I work with. As far as i’m concerned, Word and Powerpoint are the devil :P

      • Well, to me even that’s okay, if it is dealt with … with respect! But, what bothers me is if you are almost done with a big project (and then just at the final moment someone comes to you and tells you to start again from point A) … that’s something I really hate !!

        Moreover, when you ask them what they really want, and all they can come up with are Powerpoint preset cartoons !! (which are as stupid as the person showing it) :D

        Good day to you !! :D

Leave a comment