Recipe: Strawberry Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Surprise, I haven’t disappeared off the face of the planet after all! The boring truth is that I’ve been far too stressed out to blog over the last few weeks finishing up some major design projects all due around the same time. Sending the last project to the printer on Friday was the greatest relief I’ve felt in a long time. It was amazing to feel a giant load of stress melt away all at once—even moreso after celebrating with a delicious dinner and a bottle of wine with two of my best friends.

The next morning, I decided to do something I was far too stressed out to do in a long time: bake! Feeling somewhat adventurous, I decided to embark on a baking journey I’ve never taken before and try making banana bread. Since strawberries are in season right now, I added some of those as well as some organic chocolate chips. To healthy up the whole thing just a little bit, I used whole grain flour instead of white and stevia (a natural sweetener) instead of sugar.

Verdict: the thing was super easy to make, and guess what? Between my boyfriend and I, we devoured half of the entire loaf before I even got a chance to photograph the finished product!! Yes, it was that yummy. The only thing is, it was very rich, even minus the sugar and white flour—calling it “bread” probably doesn’t do it justice, it’s certainly more akin to cake. Next time, I’d use half the chocolate chips. But, overall, a successful baking experiment and a great stress reliever!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole grain)
  • about 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons stevia (or 1 cup white sugar)
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup strawberries, chopped into little pieces

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate large bowl, beat the stevia (or sugar) and butter with an electric mixer at medium speed until well blended, then add the eggs, one at a time. Next, add the mashed bananas, yogurt, and vanilla and blend everything together.
  4. Stir the dry mixture into the wet but be careful not to overmix—stir everything together just until it’s moist.
  5. Add in the chocolate chips and then gently stir in the strawberries.
  6. Spoon the batter into the loaf pan. I sprinkled a few chocolate chips over the whole thing to pretty it up a bit.
  7. Bake for about an hour, or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  8. Take out of the oven and let cool 15 minutes in the pan.
  9. Remove from pan and cool completely.
  10. Enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Recipe: Strawberry Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. This is definitely a sign – I have too-ripe bananas that need to be used, a punnet of strawberries in the fridge that I bought a few days ago, and a major craving for chocolate! I think I’ve just found the perfect recipe for my baking adventure this weekend! Thanks sooo much for sharing! haha! :)

Leave a Reply

